Wednesday, November 02, 2005

Morrow Named Conference Player of the Year

McDaniel junior back Scott Morrow has been selected as the Conference's Men's Soccer Player of the Year in balloting by the CC's 10 head coaches. Morrow was a conistent stopper on a stingy defense. He led the Green Terror defense to a Centennial-best 11 shutouts this season and his team to the top seed for this weekend's Conference championship tournament. Morrow was also a first-team selection last season.

The Terror also placed 3 other players on the first team. Senior forward Todd Knepper led the Terror with 7 assists on the season and also tallied 4 goals. This marks the second consecutive season that Knepper has been a first team selection. Senior Midfielder Thomas Kane was also a first team selection for McDaniel. Kane led the Terror in scoring with a team high 9 goals and added 3 assists for 21 points. Kane was also a first team selection in 2003 and the Centennial Conference Player of the Year that year as well. Senior goalie Andrew Wu was also named to the first team. Wu was outstanding in net all season recording an amazing 8 shutouts on the season and posted a 12-2-2 record.

First Team
Pos / Name Class Hometown / High School
F-Todd Knepper, McDaniel * Sr Boonsboro, MD / Williamsport
F-Chris King, Muhlenberg # Sr Center Valley, PA / Saucon Valley
F-Brandon Corday, Franklin & Marshall * So Morton Grove, IL / Niles Township
M-Thomas Kane, McDaniel ^ Sr Baltimore, MD / Calvert Hall
M-Jose Ramirez, Muhlenberg ^# Sr Mamaroneck, NY / Mamaroneck
M-Garrett Bruno, Gettysburg (A) Jr Harrisburg, PA / Susquehanna Township
B-Scott Morrow, McDaniel * Jr Mechanicsburg, PA / Cumberland Valley
B-Jeff Grosser, Johns Hopkins * Sr Beach Haven, NJ / Shawnee
B-Manbaj Gill, Johns Hopkins (A) * Sr East Brunswick, NJ / East Brunswick
B-Adam Milberg, Muhlenberg # Sr West Chester, PA / The Shipley School
B-Alex Elkins, Swarthmore # Sr Berkeley Heights, NJ / The Pingry School
GK-Andrew Wu, McDaniel Sr Westminster, MD / Westminster

Second Team
Pos / Name Class Hometown / High School
F-Andy Rowek, Dickinson Jr West Orange, NJ / Seton Hall
F-Steve Read, Johns Hopkins (A) * Sr Skillman, NJ / The Lawrenceville School
F-Andrew Terker, Swarthmore (A) # Sr Allentown, PA / Moravian Academy
M-Bobby Malek, Dickinson So Darnestown, MD / The Bullis School
M-Blaine Phillips, Johns Hopkins (A) Jr Mechanicsburg, PA / Cumberland Valley
M-Chris Campbell, Franklin & Marshall So Narberth, PA / Friends Central
M-Jaron Putmon, Washington % Sr Williamstown, NJ / Williamstown
B-Ryan Franks, Gettysburg (A) Sr Medford, NJ / Shawnee
B-Ryan Smallwood, Muhlenberg % Sr Cochranville, PA / Octorara
B-David Heller, Franklin & Marshall Sr Somers, NY / North Salem
GK-Nick Wells-Bundtzen, Gettysburg (A) Sr Williamstown, MA / Mt. Greylock

Honorable Mention
Pos / Name Class Hometown / High School
F-Ben Wilson, Franklin & Marshall (A) Sr Lititz, PA / Lititz Christian
F-Josh Todd, Washington Jr Crisfield, MD / Crisfield
F-James Henshaw, Muhlenberg + Sr Allentown, PA / Dieruff
M-Edmund Wybaillie, Johns Hopkins (A) Sr Great Falls, VA / George School
M-Patrick Christmas, Swarthmore So Chapel Hill, NC / East Chapel Hill
M-David Poolman, Haverford (A) % Sr Carlisle, PA / Carlisle
B-Jimmy Coleman, Dickinson Sr Monmouth Junction, NJ / Hotchkiss School
B-Alex Shuptar, Franklin & Marshall Jr Philadelphia, PA / Kents Hill School
B-Adam Simon, Johns Hopkins Sr Bethesda, MD / Walter Johnson
B-Thomas Hanlin, Ursinus Sr Baltimore, MD / Kenwood
GK-Ed Stelz, Franklin & Marshall Sr Washingtonville, NY / Loomis Chaffee School

+ 1st team All-Centennial in 2003 and 2004
* 1st team All-Centennial in 2004
^ 1st team All-Centennial in 2003
# 2nd team All-Centennial in 2004
% Honorable Mention All-Centennial in 2004
(A) Named to 2005 Conference Academic Honor Roll

Player of the Year - Scott Morrow, McDaniel, Jr., Back

o Morrow is the second McDaniel player to earn Centennial Player of the Year honors, following in the footsteps of Thomas Kane in 2003.
He is just the third back to win the award.
o Knepper, Corday, Morrow, Grosser and Gill were repeat first-team selections.
o Corday, Bruno and Morrow are the only underclassmen on the first team.
o Elkins is the first Swarthmore player to earn first-team All-Centennial honors.
o Seniors dominated the first team, occupying nine of the 12 available positions. The last time an All-CC team was so senior-laden was in 2002.
o Johns Hopkins has the most first-team selections (35) in the 13-year history of the Conference, followed by Gettysburg (34). Muhlenberg is next with 26 with Haverford (13), Franklin & Marshall (12), McDaniel (11), Dickinson (7), Washington (6), Ursinus (2) and Swarthmore (1) trailing.
o 10 students were also named to the Conference Academic Honor Roll, which recognizes sophomores, junior and seniors
who are key performers and have a 3.40 cumulative grade point average or higher.

Centennial Conference Players of the Year
1993: Javier Palazuelos, Dickinson, Jr., F
1994: Eric West, Johns Hopkins, Fr., F
1995: Tim Averell, Muhlenberg, Sr., F
1996: Noah Simon, Gettysburg, Sr., B
1997: Greg Stevcic, Gettysburg, Sr., M
1998: Jason Vishio, Gettysburg, Sr., F
1999: Chris Pryor, Gettysburg, Sr., F
2000: Matt Doran, Johns Hopkins, Jr., F
2001: Scott Runyon, Franklin & Marshall, Sr., F
2002: James Miller, Gettysburg, Sr., B
2003: Thomas Kane, McDaniel, Jr., M
2004: Gary Kane Jr., Johns Hopkins, Sr., GK
2005: Scott Morrow, McDaniel, Jr., B

Four-Time First-Team All-Centennial Selections
Frank Adamson, Haverford, 1994-95-96-97
Eric West, Johns Hopkins, 1994-95-96-97
Ryan Kitzen, Johns Hopkins, 1998-99-00-01

Three-Time First-Team All-Centennial Selections
Tim Averell, Muhlenberg, 1993-94-95
Greg Stevcic, Gettysburg, 1995-96-97
Todd Ervin, Muhlenberg, 1995-96-97
Rich Billings, Haverford, 1996-98-99
Matt Doran, Johns Hopkins, 1999-00-01
Aerik Williams, Johns Hopkins, 1999-00-01
James Miller, Gettysburg, 2000-01-02

Centennial Conference Champions
1993: Gettysburg
1994: Muhlenberg
1995: Muhlenberg
1996: Johns Hopkins
1997: Muhlenberg
1998: Johns Hopkins
1999: Gettysburg
2000: Johns Hopkins
2001: Gettysburg
2002: Johns Hopkins
2003: Muhlenberg
2004: Johns Hopkins