Thursday, October 27, 2005

Juniata, Moravian Colleges Join as Associate Members in 2007

LANCASTER, Pa. -- October 26, 2005 -- The Centennial Conference announced Wednesday that Juniata College and Moravian College have accepted invitations to join the Conference as associate members in the sport of football.

The addition of Juniata and Moravian gives the Conference nine members that sponsor the sport of football - Dickinson, Franklin & Marshall, Gettysburg, Johns Hopkins, McDaniel, Muhlenberg, and Ursinus.

"The strong academic reputations of the two institutions were attractive to the Conference's Presidents Council," said Jerome D. Schnydman, Executive Assistant to the President of Johns Hopkins University and chair of the Council. "The solid tradition in football and the commitment to the legacy of the scholar-athlete at Juniata and Moravian were also deciding factors as we enhance the Conference both in the sport of football and its overall membership."

"We are thrilled to add Juniata and Moravian to our football family," said Steven F. Ulrich, Executive Director of the Conference. "The combination of outstanding academics and a commitment to excellence on the gridiron football makes Juniata and Moravian a perfect fit for our Conference."

Both institutions have a long and storied tradition of excellence on the gridiron. Juniata played in the Tangerine Bowl (now known as the Capital One Bowl) in 1956 and played for the national championship in 1973 against Wittenberg in the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl. Chuck Knox, the former NFL head coach for the Los Angeles Rams, Buffalo Bills and Seattle Seahawks, is a 1954 graduate of Juniata. The Eagles have had three consensus first-team All-Americans since 1983, while also producing two first-team Academic All-Americans and an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipient.

The Greyhounds were in the NCAA tournament in 1988 and 1993 and have produced one consensus first-team All-American, two first-team Academic All-Americans and one NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipient. Moravian head coach Scot Dapp is the president of the American Football Coaches Association - just the fifth Division III coach to head the organization. He will serve as an assistant coach for the East team at the 2006 Hula Bowl. Dapp has led Moravian to 14 winning seasons out of his 18 years at the helm.

The two schools will begin round-robin play in the Centennial Conference beginning with the 2007 season.

Centennial Conference Football Timeline

June 4, 1981
Eight institutions from the Middle Atlantic Conference - Dickinson, Franklin & Marshall, Gettysburg,
Johns Hopkins, McDaniel (Western Maryland), Muhlenberg, Swarthmore, and Ursinus - announce the formation of a round-robin football schedule among the institutions. The Centennial Football Conference is born.

April 29, 1992 The Centennial adds three institutions - Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Washington Colleges - and becomes the all-sports "Centennial Conference."

Dec. 1985 Gettysburg reaches NCAA semifinals before losing to Ithaca College.

Oct. 1992 Franklin & Marshall becomes the fourth team in NCAA Division III history to reach the 500-win plateau.

Nov. 1999 The Conference has two teams in the NCAA tournament - McDaniel (Western Maryland) and Ursinus. - who register first-round wins.

Sept. 2003 Gettysburg becomes the 14th team in NCAA Division III history to reach the 500-win mark.

Nov. 2004
The Centennial Conference makes football history as five teams - Dickinson, Franklin & Marshall, Johns Hopkins, McDaniel and Muhlenberg - share the championship with 4-2 CC records. A five-team tie has occurred two times previously - 1976 (Upper Midwest Athletic Conference), and 1991 (Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference).